Hello Guest!

To be a member of this forum, click one of these buttons below!

Contact naijanetwork Nigeria forum for adverts
advertise on naijanetwork forum Nigeria forum
advertise on naijanetwork forum Nigeria forum

Avertise on Naijanetwork Forum Avertise on Naijanetwork Forum

Why my business is going online —Emmy Collins

ProsperProsper Posts: 1,432

London-trained, Nigerian designer turned blogger, Emmy Collins, is a fashion designer who has carved a niche for himself within and outside the country with his fashion brand. In this chat with Esther Onyegbula he talks about, how it all started, why he decided to take his craft to the next level with the e-commerce platform, his new online store and other sundry issues.

How did fashion begin for you?
Emmy Collins is a designer label that originated from Umuahia in Abia State several years ago while I was a student at Federal Government College. I was in form one then. I would go to Ariaria market in Aba to purchase fabrics. So fashion designing was a talent I discovered in Nigeria but the European environment helped me nurture it and take it to a different level. It gave me the opportunity to take courses to work with good people in the industry. I had mentors like David Jones who believed in me from the beginning and has been very supportive of my career.

Emmy-collinsWhy did you decide to open an online shop after closing your outlet in Ikoyi?
I used to have a showroom at Awolowo road in 2007/2008, but I had to shut down the showroom due to staff challenges. Some members of staff didn’t share the same idea that I have. Apparently, I was spending millions every year to keep the shop afloat but the staff I had were not in tune with the vision.

How would the e-commerce platform impact on your brand?